JEAIL > Volume 4(1); 2011 > Article
Research Paper
Published online: May 30, 2011

Unprecedented RTA Practices between the Customs Territories of China

Liang Zhang
Sun Yat-sen University, China
School of Law, Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou, P.R. China, 510275.
Corresponding Author:

ⓒ Copyright YIJUN Institute of International Law
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License ( which permits unrestricted non-commercial use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.


China consists of four customs territories: the mainland, Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan. Each customs territory is an independent member of the WTO as well. To strengthen and promote regional economic integration, the mainland, Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan have concluded the CEPAs and the ECFA, respectively. The CEPAs and the ECFA are not only RTAs under the WTO, but also administrative agreements of China, which are unprecedented practices in the Multilateral Trading System. The implementation of the CEPAs and the ECFA go smoothly, and have been elevated to national policies of China, which will significantly promote the joint economic prosperity and development of the mainland, Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan.

Keywords : RTA, FTA, CEPA, ECFA, Customs Territories, WTO Rules

View the Full Text